EntSun News

#DisneyMustPay Alan Dean Foster

EntSun News/10849674
Entertainment Giant has been Holding Back Royalty Payments for Years

NEW YORK - EntSun -- Famed science fiction and fantasy writer Alan Dean Foster, writer of multiple book series, numerous novelizations of film scripts and more than 20 novels, will hold a joint press conference with Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America (SFWA) on Wednesday, November 18 at 2:00 p.m. Eastern/1:00 p.m. Central/ 11:00 a.m. Pacific. Foster and SFWA will discuss the non-payment by Disney of several contracts for works including multipleStar Wars and Aliens novelizations.

Foster was originally contracted to write the Alien novelizations by Titan Books, and the Star Wars novelizations by Lucasfilms. Both companies regularly paid his royalties. When The Walt Disney Company acquired the rights to these novelizations in 2015, the payments stopped although the books continue to be sold. Disney continues to get money for the books. Alan Dean Foster, and possibly other authors with similar contracts, have not been paid.

More on EntSun News
Foster and SFWA will discuss the fact the contracts are contracts and that Disney must pay this author and any author to whom they owe royalty checks.

The press conference will be available via Zoom https://sfwa-org.zoom.us/webinar/register/WN_2soBxCirQQKHHYyG6Jq2NQ

The press conference will also be available on the SFWA Facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/SFWA.org

Contact
Kitty Kurth
***@kurthlampe.com


Source: Science Fiction & Fantasy Writers of America
stats
Filed Under: Entertainment

Show All News | Report Violation

0 Comments

Latest on EntSun News