EntSun News

Popular on EntSun

Similar on EntSun

Dillon & Batsauce - What Have We Done (Album)

EntSun News/11030267
ATLANTA - EntSun -- On their fifth project together, Dillon & Batsauce continue to push themselves to deliver unique, creative hip-hop built on a foundation of jazzy and lush instrumentals, clever lyricism, and thoughtful meditations on life. But What Have We Done is more than a dope album from these two imaginative artists. This is the result of more than two decades of collaboration and friendship, and you can feel their mutual love for music on every track on this record.

"The music is a little more refined, a little more direct, and a lot less apologetic," says Dillon.

You can hear every single bit of that as soon as you hear What Have We Done's lighthearted and hilarious opening track. The duo seemingly improvises an intro where they attempt to explain the album title, only to realize that it's impossible to have an answer. The real answer is that they're living in the moment, a feeling that comes through on every beat Batsauce produces and every lyric Dillon spits. It's an infectious playfulness gives the record so much replay value.

More on EntSun News
Just listen to the one-two punch of "Quiet as a Library" and "Eddie Farah." There's also a hint of nostalgia to it all, as Dillon reminisces about his childhood and Batsauce deftly layers in samples from old TV spots on "Quiet…" And it blends perfectly into "Eddie Farah," a funky and slick homage to Dillon and Bat's former stomping grounds of Jacksonville, FL.

The highlights don't stop there. When they team up with Grand Puba on "Cannonball." On "Accolades," they showcase their more serious side as they find their happiness in living life right with guests Reef The Lost Cauze and Jay Myztroh. And then there's the immaculately produced "Watercolors," a straight-up banger that finds Dillon trading verses with Quelle Chris.
We could go on, but let's leave it to the duo to explain what they want listeners to take away from the album. "Enjoyment," Batsauce says, a sentiment that Dillon echoes. "I hope it's a little momentary escape from the doldrums."

More on EntSun News
What Have We Done is due out July 12 via Full Plate. In addition to hitting DSPs, the album will be available on vinyl, CD, and cassette, with various merch available including T-shirts and collectable keychains.

01. What Have We Done (Intro)
02. Mind Made
03. Quiet as a Library
04. Eddie Farah
05. Make History
06. Cannonball (feat. Grand Puba)
07. Banana Peels
08. Accolades (feat. Reef the Lost Cauze, Jay Myztroh)
09. Wakin up Hungry (feat. Headkrack)
10. Goin' Viral
11. Ready on the Left (feat. Kool Keith)
12. What Are We Doing (Interlude)
13. Watercolors (feat. Quelle Chris)
14. Speak Easy
15. Isiah Thomas
16. Rock Bottom
17. Yoga Flame

Linkfire URL: https://soulspazm.ffm.to/fp032

Filed Under: Music

Show All News | Report Violation