EntSun News

Popular on EntSun

Similar on EntSun

CARBONELL AWARDS Announce Winners for South Florida's 2022-2023 Theater Season

EntSun News/11006551
WEST PALM BEACH, Fla. - EntSun -- (South Florida – November 14, 2023) The Carbonell Awards, South Florida's Theater & Arts Honors, today announced the winners in 20 competitive categories for the 2022-2023 theater season. This year's winners were announced in a glittery ceremony held last night at the Lauderhill Performing Arts Center before several hundred performers, producers, directors, designers, publicists, and theater fans.

"More than 80 productions at nearly 30 different theatres were evaluated by a diverse group of more than 30 experienced judges representing all three participating counties (Broward, Miami-Dade, Palm Beach). In late September, the Carbonell Awards revealed 120 nominees from 17 different theaters during last season," says Carbonell Board President Gary Schweikhart.

At this year's awards ceremony, $2,000 Jack Zink Memorial Student Scholarships were presented to Diane Danyang Li (Broward County), Emily Moreland (Palm Beach County), and Addison Doris Stone (Miami-Dade County).

More on EntSun News
The 46th Annual Carbonell Awards was produced by distinguished playwright, actor, and designer Michael McKeever and Stuart Meltzer, the founding artistic director of Zoetic Stage—both of whom have won multiple Carbonell Awards and previously produced and directed numerous Carbonell Ceremonies. Double 2023 Carbonell nominee Caryl Fantel returned as Music Director/Program Consultant. McKeever, Meltzer and Fantel were also award winners last night.

Sponsors of the 46th Annual Carbonell Awards include the Adrienne Arsht Center for the Performing Arts, Aventura Arts & Cultural Center, Broward Center for the Performing Arts, Broward Cultural Division, Marj O'Neill Butler, Carbonell Sculptures Ltd., Cultural Council for Palm Beach County, John Knox Village, Kravis Center for the Performing Arts, Lauderhill Performing Arts Center, Miami-Dade County Auditorium, The Dennis C. Moss Center (formerly The South Miami-Dade Cultural Arts Center), OutClique Magazine, South Florida Theater Magazine, South Florida Theatre League, Mark Traverso & Conor Walton, and Donald R. Walters, P.A.

More on EntSun News
About The Carbonell Awards

The Carbonell Awards fosters the artistic growth of professional theater in South Florida by celebrating the excellence and diversity of our theater artists, providing educational scholarships, and building audience appreciation and civic pride by highlighting achievements of our theater community. More than 20 professional theater companies in Broward, Miami-Dade and Palm Beach Counties participate in the awards process every year. The Carbonell Awards also celebrate the accomplishments of local artistic leaders by presenting various Special Awards.

Attached Images of 2023 Carbonell Award Winners:
  1. Outstanding New Work, Play or Musical

American Rhapsody, by Michael McKeever (Zoetic Stage)

Source: PR by Schweikhart
Filed Under: Arts

Show All News | Report Violation