EntSun News

Popular on EntSun


Similar on EntSun

Life & Loss After Stroke: Lessons from a Caregiver and Practice Perspective

EntSun News/10854205
No Cost Webinar 2/17/21 2pEST, 11aPST Approximately 800K people in US suffer a stroke 80% of survivors return home to the care of family Disrupting Healthcare
Presented by Cummings Graduate Institute for Behavioral Health Studies (CGI)

PHOENIX - EntSun -- Cummings Graduate Institute for Behavioral Health Studies (CGI) is proud to present a webinar that will be offered live, Wednesday, February 17, 2021, from 2 p.m. EST/ 11 a.m. PST. to 3 p.m. EST/ Noon PST.

Each year, approximately 800,000 people in the United States suffer a stroke. Stroke is among the leading causes of long-term disability in the United States. After being discharged from the hospital, approximately 80% of stroke survivors return home to the care of family members. These individuals often must reevaluate and remake their self-identity (i.e., from husband or wife or son or daughter) to assume the role of "family caregiver." Unfortunately, this new identity of family caregiver can be fleeting, as many survivors will pass away within the first few months of the stroke. For family caregivers, this can lead to guilt, doubt, and uncertainty about the contributions they can now make since they are no longer in the caregiving role. This distress, in turn, can result in poor adjustment and poor psychosocial outcomes.

The objective of this webinar is to use a "case and frame" approach to illustrate how what we understand from empirical research on this topic expresses itself in the "real world" of mental health practitioners.

More on EntSun News
This webinar is open to the community at no cost. Social workers, nurses, psychologists, licensed therapists, and mental health professionals are encouraged to attend as well as anyone with an interest in palliative care.  Please visit the website and sign up on the registration page.

About CGI

Founded in 2015, CGI is a nonprofit, accredited, online post-graduate institution of higher learning offering the Doctor of Behavioral Health (DBH) degree program exclusively focused on integrated healthcare. CGI is dedicated to disrupting healthcare by preparing entrepreneurial integrated care professionals through innovative and affordable quality distance education programs, grounded in the Biodyne Model, and focused on delivering human-centered care, population health improvements, and medical cost savings. CGI is focused on meeting the healthcare industry's need for a highly skilled workforce to support an integrated approach to addressing patients' needs.

Contact
J. Carro
Marketing & PR
CGI
***@marketingideals.com


Source: Cummings Graduate Institute
stats
Filed Under: Family

Show All News | Report Violation

0 Comments

Latest on EntSun News